DRAFT: This module has unpublished changes.

About Me




     My name is Omesh Harrylall. I was born in a small country in South America called "Guyana". Guyana is the only English speaking country in South America and is pretty diverse with 6 different ethnicities. I enjoyed my 14

years in Guyana and wouldn't take it back for anything.

     My family and I moved to New York from Guyana seeking better opportunities. It took a while for me to get used to America and the different cultures that it has. Now that I have been here for over 5 years, I am happy to be given the opportunities I might not have had back home. My family has always been there for me and has supported me with the goals I have set for myself and I am thankful for that.


     Coming to LaGuardia Community College was another big step for me. I felt more comfortable knowing the diversity that LaGuardia has. The college is filled with many international students coming from hundreds of different countries. It was easier for me to socialize and find connections with students because of this.


     I chose to study Mathematics and Computer Science in 2011 when I first came to LaGuardia and have since stuck with it. Even though I had problems with Math at first I have been able to overcome it and I enjoy the challenge of working out difficult problems with reasoning and critical thinking. I also enjoy helping others when they need help with computer programs and technology.


     Although I spend a lot of time on the computer, I also enjoy many different pastimes. I enjoy reading all sorts of books ranging from science fiction to manga and mysteries. I also spend a lot of time watching animes especially Japanese ones. I enjoy playing cricket and soccer but haven't been able to play as much because of college.


     In five years I hope to accomplish many things. First of all, I will have my Bachelors in Computer Science and will be on my way to a a Bachelors in Computer Engineering. Currently it is very hard to find a job in the computer science field because of outsourcing. Nevertheless, I hope in the next 5 years I will be able to secure a stable computer science job such as a Java Programmer or maybe even a Software Engineer.



DRAFT: This module has unpublished changes.